Ailec - Presentation of the Balloon
Logo Association AILEC
Association AILEC
Aéro Innovation Loisir EleCtrique
Chartres Metropole
IUT Chartres
Crédit Agricole




Balloon

Find all photos and videos in gallery

After a 3-axis (the Demoichellec) and a Pendulum ULMs (the Pulmchellec), we had looked forward to a new ULM class: a motorized balloon. This is constituted of hot air balloon, with a traditional gaz burner, and an electric auxiliary propeller.

It was Jacques MASSET, balloonist, balloon instructor and ULM balloon pilot (Class 5) who proposed this project. He had a microlight balloon initially powered by a thermal engine. The noise generated by this type of engine is especially painful on a balloon where silentless and vibrationless is an integral part of the fun of flying. In addition the engine is not needed for lift, and is mainly used for the landing management. Consequently, the autonomy is less critical than the other types of aircraft.

Ballon
Ballon Flight during the aviation camp


Jacques MASSET
Jacques Masset

Jacques Masset wanted to re-engine into an electric one to enjoy the benefits of this technology: noise sharply, no vibration, no fuel odor, no fuel dispersed during inflation (the balloon is coated). Electric motorisation is therefore particularly advantageous here. That is AILEC, in partnership with the IUT de Chartres and with a group of some students, which worked again on the development of the electric motorisation.

This project began in February 2014. The balloon was completed and have flight the following summer during our aviation camp.





  • Original Thermal Engine 1

    Original Thermal Engine

  • Original Thermal Engine 2

    Original Thermal Engine

  • Electric Motorisation 1

    New Electric Motorization

  • Flight 1
  • Flight 2

Ailec - Présentation du Ballon
Logo Association AILEC
Association AILEC
Aéro Innovation Loisir EleCtrique




Ballon

Retrouvez toutes les videos dans la galerie

Après un ULM trois axes (la Demoichellec) et pendulaire (le Pulmchellec), nous passons à une nouvelle classe d'ULM : le ballon motorisé. Celui-ci est constitué d'un ballon à air chaud sur lequel est adapté une motorisation auxiliaire électrique.

C'est Jacques Masset, aérostier, instructeur ballon, et pilote ballon ULM (classe 5) qui nous a proposé ce projet. Il disposait d'un ballon ULM initialement motorisé en thermique. Le bruit généré par ce type de moteur est particulièrement pénible sur un ballon où le silence et l'absence de vibration fait intégralement partie du plaisir du vol. De plus la motorisation n'est pas nécessaire à la sustentation, et est surtout utilisée pour la gestion de l'atterrissage, l'autonomie est donc moins critique que sur d'autres types d'aéronefs.

Ballon
Vol du Ballon lors du Camps Aéronautique


Jacques MASSET
Jacques Masset

Jacques Masset souhaitait le re-motoriser en électrique pour profiter pleinement des avantages de cette technologie : bruit fortement diminué, absence de vibration, pas d'odeur de carburant, pas de carburant dispersé lors du gonflage (le ballon est alors couché). La motorisation en électrique est donc particulièrement avantageuse ici. C'est alors que AILEC, en partenariat avec l'IUT de Chartres et avec un groupe de quelques étudiants, est intervenu encore une fois sur le développement de la motorisation électrique.

Ce projet a débuté en février 2014 et le ballon a été terminé et a volé l'été suivant lors de notre camp aéronautique.





  • Motorisation thermique 1

    Motorisation thermique d'origine

  • Motorisation thermique 2

    Motorisation thermique d'origine

  • Motorisation Electrique

    Nouvelle Motorisation Electrique

  • Vol 1
  • Flight 2